Early Modern Period (17th-19th century)
Settlements in the Early Modern Period

There are two types of settlements in the city area. One is called Nogata situated in the valley among uplands, another is called Satogata situated in the lowlands. Their geographical conditions are different so that their development differs in history. Those distributed in the interior of the upland, outskirts of the city area, were newly developed settlements in the Edo period.

Successive Lords

Fujimi city area in the Edo period comprises three sectors, the territory under direct control of the shogun (pink), the Kawagoe domain (yellow), and hatamoto (direct retainers of the shogun) domains. A high-ranking retainer in the shogunate was appointed to the lord of the Kawagoe domain, and the lord was frequently changed.

Index    prev    next

Nanbatajō Museum, Fujimi City Municipal Museum of History and Folklore